RSS

The New Me

09 Jul

Well, it’s certainly been a long time since I’ve last blogged.  There have been many changes.

The one that I want to talk about today, is my new house!  I get the keys next week Friday and move in on Saturday.  I’m really excited! The little house isn’t much, and she’s kinda sad looking right now, but she’s mine and I can do whatever I like with her!  She needs a good scrubbing and a bit of a facelift, but nothing too serious, nothing a bit of soap and water and a coat of paint can’t fix!

Right now I only have a picture of the outside from the front, where she’s proudly wearing the SOLD sign! I will take pictures of each room on Friday when it’s empty and then I’ll do updates as things get done!

Image

So, you ask, where does the “New Me” come into play?  Well, this is the very first time I’ve ever been on my own.  I have never really done all the stuff that most of you ladies do on a day to day basis, like paying bills, banking, planning meals, even working since I haven’t worked in almost 7 years.  It’s all new to me! I’m learning a little each day and I’m very lucky to have all kinds of people helping me and giving me tips and showing me better ways to do things.  I’m blessed for all the people who have saved furniture and other housewares for me so that I don’t have to eat out of a pot while sitting in the floor in the dark.  

I am also very grateful to Ryan.  He kept a cool head and played with numbers and options until he figured out a way for both of us to be able to have our own houses and neither of us to be swamped in debt.  Regardless that other things just didn’t work between us, I will always appreciate the help he’s been to me through this.

Owning my own home, and being the only one paying bills, I also got a really rude awakening when I tried to find a job!  That’s a story for another day though, but again, God has been good and blessed me in an unbelievable way!

For now, I’m thinking about how to set my house up, where to put my fibre toys and which home improvement project I should do first.  One step at a time, everything will get done.

Tonight I’m going to one of my friends’ home to pick up some furniture and house stuff that she has been holding on to for me.  Among them, a pull out sofa!  When she asked me about it, I got very excited.  My little house has a rec room and I figure that the pull out sofa will be perfect in there in case my sister and her babies (Yes, BABIES! She’s due with her second in October) comes to visit.  Or if one of the kids wants to have a sleep over, I can stick them in the recroom so that they don’t bother their siblings.  My friend also has a lamp that I’m really excited about.  I’ve always wanted a good lamp in my living room that I can knit by without straining my eyes.  Well, I got one, but now she has another one for me, so I’m going to put it in my bedroom with my fancy blue chair that I got from Salvation Army Family Services a couple months ago.  All that to say, I have a bunch of new to me things that I can’t wait to put into my new house!

I really should be packing instead of blogging since next weekend is going to get here really fast!! Bye Bye for now!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2013 in House Stuff

 

2 responses to “The New Me

  1. Nathalie

    July 9, 2013 at 5:36 PM

    wow, congrats Catt, thats fantastic. Let me know if you need help with anything or if you want me to go through your new home and discuss organizing options and room layout. I also have an office chair (big one), Ceiling light fixtures, lamp shades if you are in need of those. Oh and plants whenever you are ready for planting :D
    Btw, you can get free paint at the Landfill (special section) if you need some.
    Good luck and can’t wait to see and read more about your new home!!!!!

     
  2. ldfitzgerald

    July 10, 2013 at 10:27 PM

    Where is this home located?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 473 other followers

